Home - News - “PRO Lobachevsky – 2017” Prize awarded for the first time in Nizhni Novgorod

17 January 2017

On January 13, the  Russian Press Day, the Prize for the Popularization of Russian science and higher education in the media “PRO Lobachevsky - 2017" was awarded for the first time at Lobachevsky University. Its winners are the media and journalists who promote the achievements of Russian scientists and higher education institutions. The founders of the award are Lobachevsky University and Sarovbusinessbank. 

The initiative to establish the prize dates back to exactly one year ago when Lobachevsky University celebrated its 100th anniversary (and that of higher education of the Nizhni Novgorod region). To sum up the year 2016, the most interesting and relevant TV and radio programs, news stories, newspaper articles and materials posted on the Internet about today’s science and higher education in the Nizhni Novgorod region have been selected.

The award ceremony was attended by Sergei Kuchin, Minister of Information Technologies, Communications and Media of the Nizhni Novgorod region, Irina Alushkina, President of PJSC Sarovbusinessbank, Olga Noskova, Chairperson of the Nizhni Novgorod Branch of the Russian Journalists' Union, Evgeny Chuprunov, UNN Rector, Roman Strongin, UNN President as well as representatives of the Nizhni Novgorod media and UNN Faculty of Philology. Minister of Information Technology, Communications and Media of the Nizhni Novgorod region Sergei Kuchin wished all those present every success and new achievements in the development of professional journalism. 

According to UNN Rector Evgeny Chuprunov, this award will become a tradition and will encourage the efforts and initiatives of the media aimed at the development of science journalism. It is planned that the Prize “PRO Lobachevsky - 2017" will be awarded annually on the Russian Press Day and will become a significant step towards the promotion of scientific knowledge and young people’s professional orientation. The list of the first winners of the Prize includes ten representatives of Nizhni Novgorod media and press.